Mobile-only Menu


Quick Navigation to IPSD Sites

NV Media Students Earn 7 Top Honors

Reported by on 4/24/20

Today was the 27th Annual Midwest Media Educators Association High School Video Festival. For years, we have hosted this event at Neuqua for close to 900 students and media educators. But this year, we had to hold a virtual video festival instead. That festival was held this morning and we are proud to announce that Neuqua Valley media students earned 7 top honors! If you have an interest in watching our virtual festival, it can be viewed HERE.

1st Place – Documentary: “Worthy” by Riley Ebert
2nd Place – News Program: “Wildcat Weekly” by Nick Sokoloski, Hailey Yellin, Payton Williams, Karsyn Goss, Abby Stankus
4th Place – Commercial: “Cheerios” by Yusuf Alauddin
4th Place – Movie Trailer: “The Rising Psycho” by Matthew McDonnell, Liam Stephens, Faith Johnson
4th Place – News Package: “Neuqua Boys Golf” by Connor Burns
5th Place – 7-Day Challenge: “Promposal” by Liam Stephens, Matthew McDonnell, Faith Johnson, Jake Boudreau
5th Place – Comedic Narrative: “*NSULN” by Yusuf Alauddin, Nolan Manke, Kevin Shaffer, Jeff Isakson

The Chicago/Midwest chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences recently announced that 2 Neuqua Valley students have been awarded a Student Television Award for Excellence in the following categories:
- Riley Ebert for “Worthy” in the Short Form-Non-Fiction category
- Matthew McDonnell for “McDonnell Editing Reel” in the Editor category

9 other videos were NATAS nominees (finalists):
- Gianna Desiderioscioli for “1985” in the Music Video category
- Tyler Adams for “The Man in the Red Jacket” in the Short Form – Fiction category
- Aidan Parnell, Brian Shaffer, Tyler Adams for “Stronger” in the Short Form – Non-Fiction category
- Nick Sokoloski, Hailey Yellin, Payton Williams, Karsyn Goss, Abby Stankus for “Wildcat Weekly” in the Magazine Program category
- Riley Ebert for “Amazon Alexa – Echo” in the Commercial category
- Liam Stephens for “Director Reel Liam Stephens” in the Director category
- Liam Stephens for “Editing Reel” in the Editor category
- Liam Briese for “Liam Briese Photography Reel” in the Photographer category
- Liam Stephens for “Liam Stephens Photography Reel” in the Photographer category

The TV Academy created the Student Award of Excellence to honor outstanding television journalism by high school students in 2003. This is the 13th and 14th Student Awards of Excellence that Neuqua Valley has been awarded.

For more information on the Student Television Award for Excellence, visit:


In addition to the videos that placed in the top 5, 7 additional Neuqua Valley videos were selected as finalists for their respective categories in the MMEA Video Festival:

Demonstration: “How to Make Chocolate Chip Cookies” by Katrina Marzuki and Missy Rambissoon
Demonstration: “How to Make Buffalo Mac & Cheese” by Riley Ebert
Documentary: “Leaping to the Olympics” by Gabby Golab and Eva Topolewski
Dramatic Narrative: “The Man in the Red Jacket” by Tyler Adams
Live-Event Non-Sports: “Variety Show 2020” by Nick Sokoloski and Liam Stephens
News Package: “Dr. Lance Fuhrer” by Hailey Yellin
News Package: “Former Wildcat Donny Navarro” by “Sam Appelbaum

Share via email Share via Twitter Share via Facebook Print this page

Commonly Accessed Links and Info for Students, Parents and Community

Register for School

Our Registration page has everything to get you started, including online registration, boundary maps, residency requirements, and district fees.

Student Information System

COVID-19 Virus Log in to our new Synergy SIS via the links below: