NV Media Students Earn Top Honors

Reported by on 4/30/21

The 28th Annual High School Video Festival, sponsored by the Chicago/Midwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences and the Midwest Media Educators Association (MMEA), was held virtually on Friday, April 30, 2021. Students from the Media Communication I, Broadcast Journalism & Production II, & Broadcast Journalism & Production III classes at Neuqua Valley High School participated along with high school media students from 42 high schools across the Northern Illinois/Southern Wisconsin/Northwest Indiana area.

Neuqua Valley earned 5 top honors.

1st Place – Sports Program: “Gold Zone” by Dominick Liacone and Connor Burns
3rd Place – News Package: “Students Adapting to Remote Learning” by Dominick Liacone
3rd Place – Commercial: “Sprite” by Michael Lee
4th Place – Demonstration: “How to Make Apple Pie” by Missy Rambissoon and Katrina Marzuki
5th Place – News Package: “Registering to Vote” by Jim Reindl
Finalist – Music Video: “Tyler, The Creator – Perfect” by Aidan Parnell
Finalist – Movie Trailer: “Eden” by Liam Briese
Finalist – Dramatic Narrative: “A Conversation with Yourself” by Dominick Gramarosso
Finalist – Commercial: “Mustang” by Liam Briese

* The Chicago/Midwest chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences recently announced that 3 Neuqua Valley entries have been awarded a Student Television Award for Excellence in the following categories:
- Liam Briese for “Liam Briese Editing Reel” in the Editor category
- Liam Briese for “Liam Briese Photography Reel” in the Photography category
- “Wildcat Weekly” in the Magazine Category (Sam Appelbaum, Dominick Liacone, Alexis Muoghalu, Lauren Verdun)
2 other videos were NATAS nominees (finalists):
- Nicole Straczynski for “Ribs” in the Music Video category
- Aidan Parnell for “Aidan Parnell – Editing Reel” in the Editor category

The TV Academy created the Student Award of Excellence to honor outstanding television journalism by high school students in 2003. This is the 15th, 16th, and 17th Student Awards of Excellence that Neuqua Valley has been awarded.

*Senior Dominick Liacone was presented with the $2,500 Silver Scholarship by the Chicago/Midwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

*Senior Alexis Muoghalu was presented with the $1,000 Lucas Palermo Scholarship from the Midwest Media Educators Association.

For more information on the Student Television Award for Excellence, visit: http://chicagoemmyonline.org/students/