Return to Headlines

February 26, 2024

Metea Valley Individual Speech State Champion

The board salutes Metea Valley senior, Siri Nayakanti, for achieving top honors in the Informative Speaking category at the Illinois High School Association State Final.
Congratulations Siri for a job well done!

Granger educator receives Award of Special Recognition

The board salutes Granger bilingual teacher, Matt Walsh, for receiving the Illinois State Board of Education’s 2024 Award of Special Recognition. The educator recognition program acknowledges and appreciates Illinois’ amazing teachers, administrators, support staff, and community members who work to make a positive impact in their schools.
Congratulations, Matt, on receiving this prestigious award!

Illinois PTA Outstanding Teacher of the Year

The board salutes Waubonsie Valley fine arts department chair and band teacher, Mark Duker, who was named the Illinois PTA Outstanding Teacher of the Year. The award recognizes educators who have demonstrated a positive impact with their PTA, students, and the learning community. 

Congratulations Mr. Duker!

Neuqua Valley Speech Team Wins State

The board salutes the Neuqua Valley speech team on their state championship title. Individual state champions were senior April Zhang in the Extemporaneous and Oratory group, senior Anurag Ghosh for Special Occasion speaking, and senior Avaneesh Thiyagarajan in the Prose category.

Congratulations for a job well done!

2024 Henry Cowherd Scholarship Winners

The board salutes Metea Valley senior, Jada Lewis, and Waubonsie Valley senior, Tyler Threat,
for receiving a 2024 Henry Cowherd Scholarship from the Aurora African American Heritage Advisory Board. Scholarship recipients have made a commitment to volunteerism, have high academic excellence, and seek to use their education to advance the African American community.
Congratulations Jada and Tyler!

Metea Valley JV Dance Team State Champions

The board salutes the Metea Valley JV Dance Team who won the Illinois Drill Team Association State Championship in the JV1 Hip Hop Division. The varsity team had a top ten finish and earned their highest score in Metea Valley’s history.
Congratulations to the coaches and team on this great achievement!

District 204 Students Excel in the Middle School Robotics Tournament

The board salutes District 204 middle school students and staff who participated in the Robotics Tournament at Fischer Middle School on Saturday, February 3, as well as director of innovation and instructional leadership, Brian Giovanini for serving as tournament organizer.
Congratulations to Gregory Team C and Hill Team D, which captured the Tournament Champion Award. Crone Team B and Hill Team F were Tournament Finalists. The Skills Champion went to Hill Team D. Gregory Gamma Squad was the Second-Place Champion, and the overall Excellence Winner was Gregory Team Epsilon. The middle school Excellence Winners were Hill Team E, Crone Team C, Fischer 209T, Scullen Delta, and Still Team 3.
Congratulations to all the robotics teams, and thank you to the Indian Prairie Educational Foundation for supporting this robotics tournament experience.

2024 Far West Suburbs Teacher of the Year

The board salutes Georgetown Elementary fifth grade teacher, Dr. Rachael Mahmood, who was named the Illinois State Board of Education 2024 Far West Suburbs Teacher of the Year. Dr. Mahmood is one of fifteen finalists for Illinois Teacher of the Year. Since 1970, the Illinois State Board of Education has sponsored the award to honor educators who have made a significant contribution to our state’s public and nonpublic elementary and secondary schools.
Congratulations Dr. Mahmood!