Return to Headlines

March 11, 2024

District 204 Students Excel in the Elementary Robotics Tournament

The board salutes District 204 elementary school students and staff who recently participated in the Robotics Tournament this past weekend. We also salute director of innovation and instructional leadership, Brian Giovanini, for serving as tournament organizer. Congratulations to all the winners of the School Excellence Awards, Judge Awards, Teamwork Champions, and the Skills Champions.
We extend our congratulations to all participating robotics teams and express our gratitude to the Indian Prairie Educational Foundation for their support of the district’s robotics program.

District 204 students to appear in Paramount Theatre’s Billy Elliot

The board salutes Crone Middle School sixth grader, Nina Poulimas, and Scullen Middle School eighth grader, Willa Zatzenbloom for their upcoming appearances in Paramount Theater’s Billy Elliot. Nina and Willa will be performing as ballet girls. Paramount’s Billy Elliot will run through March 24, 2024.
Congratulations to both Nina and Willa on this notable accomplishment (break a leg)!

Business Professionals of America State and National Qualifiers

The board salutes students from all three District 204 high schools who were recently named Business Professionals of America National Qualifiers. Metea Valley has four national qualifiers, Neuqua Valley has 53, and Waubonsie Valley has 36. In addition, two juniors from Waubonsie Valley Business Professionals of America were elected as state officers for the 2024-2025 term. Sanvi Maganti is the newly elected State President and Aarushi Ranjan was elected Vice President of State Newsletter. Metea Valley senior Rish Amsaraj, secured a state championship in the Entrepreneurship group, while second place in the Health Leadership group went to junior Laya Muthukumar, and in the Network Design Team, juniors Roshan Char and Andrew Xu were awarded third place.

Good luck at the national conference in April and congratulations to each of these BPA students and their advisors!

2024 Illinois Middle School Principal of the Year

The board salutes Granger Middle School principal Allan Davenport, who was named the Illinois Middle School Principal of the Year from Horace Mann and the Illinois Principals Association. The award recognizes middle school principals for their outstanding accomplishments who have demonstrated a positive impact on their students and learning community.
Congratulations Principal Davenport on this incredible recognition!

Illinois Business Professionals of America Outstanding Advisor of the Year

The board salutes Waubonsie Valley business teacher, Chris Skrzypchak, who was named the Illinois Business Professionals of America, Outstanding Advisor of the Year. The award recognizes educators who have made significant contributions to the Business Professionals of America Association or a career-technical education.
Congratulations Chris Skrypchak!