District 204 Board of Education Named 2022 Governance Recognition Honoree

Reported by on 10/13/22

Indian Prairie School District 204’s (IPSD 204) board of education was named a 2022 Governance Recognition Honoree by the Illinois Association of School Boards (IASB). IPSD 204 most recently won this bi-annual award in 2020. As one of only 33 districts in the state to receive the distinction, the award signifies that the IPSD 204 board of education has engaged in activities that lead to excellence in local school governance in support of quality public education.

The School Board Governance Recognition program acknowledges school boards that learn, and practice effective governance behaviors as identified in IASB's Foundational Principles of Effective Governance, through participation in and support for board development programs and events. The primary focus of this program is on full board development and participation. Effective school boards understand that excellence in local school board governance requires full board commitment to obtaining the knowledge, skills, and abilities critical to good governance.

Indian Prairie has a long-standing tradition of maintaining a collaborative board of education and takes pride in their commitment to continuous learning for the betterment of the board’s overall governance practices. As a leader in board governance, Indian Prairie’s board members have frequently been asked to speak at the IASB statewide annual conference to share best practices with other school districts.

Laurie Donahue, Indian Prairie’s board of education president, shared the board is pleased to be one of a select group recognized by IASB for board governance. “This award continues our history of Board recognition for applying comprehensive governance in our role and responsibilities,” Donahue said. “The Board is committed to maintaining this focus with our activities.”

In collaboration with President Laurie Donahue, Indian Prairie’s board of education is made up of seven members including Vice President Mark Rising, Secretary Susan Demming; and board members Allison Fosdick, Natasha Grover, Supna Jain, and Justin Karubas.

Indian Prairie board of education members, along with other 2022 School Board Governance Recognition honorees, will be recognized at Fall Division Meetings and acknowledged at the IASB’s Joint Annual Conference in November.