Eight District 204 Schools Honored with Thrive Award

Reported by on 9/21/21

GreatSchools.org announced eight District 204 schools as recipients of its inaugural Thrive Award. The first-of-its-kind award recognizes and celebrates public schools in Illinois that demonstrate positive, supportive learning environments for students and staff.

The data-driven award is given to schools that complete and score favorably on the Illinois State Board of Education’s annual 5Essentials Survey, completed by students and staff at the state’s public schools. Survey results provide an overview of a school’s climate — information that’s important for families to understand but not easy to find.

The University of Chicago Consortium on School Research has validated the effectiveness of the 5Essentials Survey in promoting positive student outcomes. Though the survey has been administered to over 6,000 schools in 22 states, 452 Illinois schools were selected to receive the inaugural Thrive Award because of the Illinois State Board of Education’s transparent data policy that makes this critical school information publicly available.

The District 204 Thrive Award Schools are:

Clifford Crone Middle School | Gordon Gregory Middle School | Metea Valley High School | Neuqua Valley High School | Scullen Middle School | Still Middle School | Thayer J. Hill Middle School | Waubonsie Valley High School